Head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Professor S Zeki Head of Laboratory 02076 797316
Researchers
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Dr Stewart Shipp Senior Research Fellow
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
Bath Street, London EC1V 9EL
02076 084004 s.shipp@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Tomohiro Ishizu Research Fellow t.ishizu@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Yoshihiro Shigihara Research Fellow y.shigihara@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Luca Ticini Research associate 02076 797316 (UCL x37316) l.ticini@ucl.ac.uk
Computing
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Mr John Romaya Senior Programmer 02076 793905 (UCL x33905) j.romaya@ucl.ac.uk
Staff at the FIL (Functional Imaging Laboratory)
Functional Imaging Laboratory staff directory
Honorary Members of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Hideaki Kawabata Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Keio University, Japan kawabata@flet.keio.ac.jp
Dr Andreas Bartels Postdoc Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen and at the LON andreas.bartels@tuebingen…
Dr Konstantinos Moutoussis Department of the History of Science, Athens University konstantinos.moutoussis…
Ludovica Lumer Director of the Nina Lumer Gallery, Milan
Former Staff and Students of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Ulrich Kirk Post doc at Human Neuroimaging Lab, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. ulrichkirk@gmail.com
Dr Klaartje Heinen Postdoc Research Fellow kheinen@gmail.com
Dr Richard Lewis Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen richard.lewis@tuebingen…
Dr Matthew Self Physiological Laboratory, University of Austria m.self@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Taiji Takanashi Has returned to Japan t.takanashi@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Richard Perry Now works as a Specialist Registrar at the National Hospital for Neurology richardjperry@tiscali.co.uk
Dr Velia Cardin Former Wellcome Trust PhD student. Now at Royal Holloway College. v.cardin@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Barrie Roulston Former Wellcome Trust PhD student
Dr Tzu-Ching ("TC") Chiang Has returned to Taiwan t.chiang@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Edoardo Zamuner Lecturing at the University of Melbourne
Dr Chi-Hua Chen Now researching at the University of California, San Diego
Dr Marcus Pearce Now researching at Goldsmiths, University of London
Ms Fiammetta Ghedini
Ms Barbara Nordhjem
Dr Sam Cheadle Now researching at the University of Oxford
Jonathan Stutters Now researching at the Instuitute of Neurology

Latest news

  • Now available: Semir Zeki's first book, A Vision of the Brain, can be downloaded here.
  • Upcoming lecture 25/04/14 17:45 Madrid: Closing Lecture on Neuroesthetics at I Jornado internacional sobre neuroestética.
  • Upcoming lecture 03/05/14 10:30 Sydney - Art Gallery of New South Wales: Keynote address on The Fatal Trio: Beauty, Desire, Love at the 19th Sydney Biennale.
  • Upcoming lecture 06/05/14 University of Melbourne - The Florey Institute: Lecture on The neurobiology of subjective experiences - from colour to beauty
  • Upcoming lecture 15/05/14 18:00 Café Scientifique: Lecture on The Science of Beauty
  • In discussion 04/06/14 18:00 Cheltenham: ...with Ophelia Deroy and Chris McManus on Beauty and the Brain at The Times Cheltenham Science Festival 2014.
  • In dialogue 06/06/14 University of Catania, Sicily: ...with Michael Burke at the Faculty of Letters, Catania University.
  • Upcoming lecture 08/07/14 Milan - Sala degli Alessi, Palazzo Marino, Piazza della Scala: A talk at the symposium on architecture, part of the 2014 FENS programme
  • Upcoming lecture 15-16/11/14 Warsaw (exact timing to be announced): A talk at the "Aspects of Neuroscience" conference
  • Upcoming lecture 05-06/12/14 Heidelberg (exact timing to be announced): Keynote address at the Helmholtz Foundation, Heidelberg University
  • Now available: Perceptual asynchrony for motion by Yu Tung Lo and Semir Zeki in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Varieties of perceptual instability and their neural correlates by Tomohiro Ishizu and Semir Zeki in Neuroimage.
  • Now available: The experience of mathematical beauty and its neural correlates by Semir Zeki, John Romaya, Dionigi Benincasa and Sir Michael Atiyah in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: The "Visual Shock" of Francis Bacon: an essay in neuroesthetics by Semir Zeki and Tomohiro Ishizu in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Clive Bell's "Significant Form" and the neurobiology of aesthetics by Semir Zeki is now available under open access in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: The brain's specialized systems for aesthetic and perceptual judgments by Semir Zeki and Tomohiro Ishizu is now available under open access in the European Journal of Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Parallelism in the brain's visual form system by Semir Zeki and Yoshihito Shigihara is now available in the European Journal of Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Splendors and Miseries of the Brain is now available in Greek.