Head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Professor S Zeki Head of Laboratory 02076 797316
Researchers
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Dr Stewart Shipp Senior Research Fellow
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
Bath Street, London EC1V 9EL
02076 084004 s.shipp@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Tomohiro Ishizu Research Fellow 020 7679 1580 t.ishizu@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Yoshihiro Shigihara Research Fellow y.shigihara@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Luca Ticini Research associate 02076 797316 (UCL x37316) l.ticini@ucl.ac.uk
Computing
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Mr John Romaya Senior Programmer 02076 793905 (UCL x33905) j.romaya@ucl.ac.uk
Staff at the FIL (Functional Imaging Laboratory)
Functional Imaging Laboratory staff directory
Honorary Members of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Hideaki Kawabata Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Keio University, Japan kawabata@flet.keio.ac.jp
Dr Andreas Bartels Postdoc Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen and at the LON andreas.bartels@tuebingen…
Dr Konstantinos Moutoussis Department of the History of Science, Athens University konstantinos.moutoussis…
Ludovica Lumer Director of the Nina Lumer Gallery, Milan
Former Staff and Students of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Ulrich Kirk Post doc at Human Neuroimaging Lab, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. ulrichkirk@gmail.com
Dr Klaartje Heinen Postdoc Research Fellow kheinen@gmail.com
Dr Richard Lewis Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen richard.lewis@tuebingen…
Dr Matthew Self Physiological Laboratory, University of Austria m.self@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Taiji Takanashi Has returned to Japan t.takanashi@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Richard Perry Now works as a Specialist Registrar at the National Hospital for Neurology richardjperry@tiscali.co.uk
Dr Velia Cardin Former Wellcome Trust PhD student. Now at Royal Holloway College. v.cardin@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Barrie Roulston Former Wellcome Trust PhD student
Dr Tzu-Ching ("TC") Chiang Has returned to Taiwan t.chiang@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Edoardo Zamuner Lecturing at the University of Melbourne
Dr Chi-Hua Chen Now researching at the University of California, San Diego
Dr Marcus Pearce Now researching at Goldsmiths, University of London
Ms Fiammetta Ghedini
Ms Barbara Nordhjem
Dr Sam Cheadle Now researching at the University of Oxford
Jonathan Stutters Now researching at the Instuitute of Neurology

Latest news - lectures

  • Future engagement: 9-12 July 2018
    Lecture: The Neurobiology of Beauty at the Franklin-Wilkins Building, King's College London as part of the XII International Symposium of Functional Neuroreceptor Mapping of the Living Brain
  • Future engagement: 15-16 November 2018
    Lecture: The Neurobiology of Beauty as part of the Fresco Conference on Synaptic Plasticity, Florence, Italy
  • Future engagement: 7 December 2018
    Lecture: The Neurobiology of Aesthetic Experiences and Judgement at the Salpetriere Hospital, Paris for the French Society of Neurology
  • Future engagement: 8-14 April 2019
    Semir Zeki will give a public lecture at the National Geographic Science Festival in Rome (April 8-14, 2019). The Festival will coincide with the 500th anniversary of the death of Leonardo Da Vinci and the 50th anniversary of landing on the moon. Exact title, date and venue to be announced.

Latest news - publications

  • Recently appeared: The Rough Seas of Cortical Cartography by Semir Zeki is now available in Trends in Neurosciences
  • Recently appeared: The Bayesian-Laplacian Brain Semir Zeki, Oliver Y. Chèn bioRXiv
  • Recently appeared: Imaging the passionate stage of romantic love by dopamine dynamics by Kayo Takahashi, Kei Mizuno, Akihiro T Sasaki, Yasuhiro Wada, Masaaki Tanaka, Akira Ishii, Kanakao Tajima, Naohiro Tsuyuguchi, Kyosuke Watanabe, Semir Zeki and Yasuyoshi Watanabe is now available in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience
  • Recently appeared: A special issue of The Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, edited by Semir Zeki, to commemorate the 350th anniversary of the birth of this, the first peer-reviewed journal, is now online. It is entitled "Cerebral Cartography: a vision of its future" and contains, among other articles, ones giving detailed descriptions of the American, European and Japanese brain initiative programmes.
  • Now available: Semir Zeki's first book, A Vision of the Brain, can be downloaded here.
  • Now available: Splendors and Miseries of the Brain is now available in Greek and Polish (also available in Spanish, Italian and German).
  • Now available: Inner Vision by Semir Zeki.