Head of the Laboratory of Neurobiology
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Professor S Zeki Head of Laboratory 02076 797316
Researchers
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Dr Stewart Shipp Senior Research Fellow
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
Bath Street, London EC1V 9EL
02076 084004 s.shipp@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Tomohiro Ishizu Research Fellow t.ishizu@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Yoshihiro Shigihara Research Fellow y.shigihara@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Luca Ticini Research associate 02076 797316 (UCL x37316) l.ticini@ucl.ac.uk
Computing
NamePositionTelephoneEmail
Mr John Romaya Senior Programmer 02076 793905 (UCL x33905) j.romaya@ucl.ac.uk
Staff at the FIL (Functional Imaging Laboratory)
Functional Imaging Laboratory staff directory
Honorary Members of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Hideaki Kawabata Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Keio University, Japan kawabata@flet.keio.ac.jp
Dr Andreas Bartels Postdoc Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen and at the LON andreas.bartels@tuebingen…
Dr Konstantinos Moutoussis Department of the History of Science, Athens University konstantinos.moutoussis…
Ludovica Lumer Director of the Nina Lumer Gallery, Milan
Former Staff and Students of LON
NamePositionEmail
Dr Ulrich Kirk Post doc at Human Neuroimaging Lab, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. ulrichkirk@gmail.com
Dr Klaartje Heinen Postdoc Research Fellow kheinen@gmail.com
Dr Richard Lewis Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute, Tuebingen richard.lewis@tuebingen…
Dr Matthew Self Physiological Laboratory, University of Austria m.self@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Taiji Takanashi Has returned to Japan t.takanashi@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Richard Perry Now works as a Specialist Registrar at the National Hospital for Neurology richardjperry@tiscali.co.uk
Dr Velia Cardin Former Wellcome Trust PhD student. Now at Royal Holloway College. v.cardin@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Barrie Roulston Former Wellcome Trust PhD student
Dr Tzu-Ching ("TC") Chiang Has returned to Taiwan t.chiang@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Edoardo Zamuner Lecturing at the University of Melbourne
Dr Chi-Hua Chen Now researching at the University of California, San Diego
Dr Marcus Pearce Now researching at Goldsmiths, University of London
Ms Fiammetta Ghedini
Ms Barbara Nordhjem
Dr Sam Cheadle Now researching at the University of Oxford
Jonathan Stutters Now researching at the Instuitute of Neurology

Latest news

  • New: Neurobiology and the Humanities by Semir Zeki will soon be published in Neuron
  • Coming soon: Non-binding relationship between visual features by Dragan Rangelov and and Semir Zeki will soon be published in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience
  • Upcoming lecture Sep 10 2014, Brazil: Opening Lecture "The study of the visual brain and of affective states" at the Brazilian Neuroscience meeting in Buzios
  • Upcoming lecture Sep 11 2014, Brazil: Lecture "Neurobiological questions raised by the 'visual shock' of Francis Bacon's paintings" at the Brazilian Neuroscience meeting in Buzios
  • Upcoming symposium Sep 12 2014, Brazil: at the Brazilian Neuroscience meeting in Buzios
  • Upcoming lecture Oct 16 2014, UK: A talk to the Exeter Philosophy Society "The past and the future of neuroesthetics"
  • Upcoming lecture Nov 16 2014 12:40 Poland: Lecture "Subjective truths - from colour to beauty" at the Aspects of Neuroscience conference at Faculty of Biology, Warsaw University, (Kampus Ochota, Miecznikowa 1 Street, Warsaw), organized by the Neurobiology Students Scientific Club of Warsaw University
  • Upcoming lecture Dec 6 2014 16:45 Germany: A talk entitled "Neuroesthetics" at the Heidelberg Conference on "Embodiment in Evolution and Culture", Internationales Wissenschaften Heidelberg.
  • Future engagement May 26-28 2015, Greece: Will give a plenary lecture at the meeting on aesthetics at the Aristotle University, Thessaloniki
  • Future engagement Jul 19-22 2015, Japan: Will give a lecture at the 39th annual meeting of the Japanese Neuroscience Society, held at the Pacifica, Yokohama
  • Future engagement Jul 24-29 2015, Japan: Will give a lecture at the International Congress of Psychology, held at the Pacifica, Yokohama
  • Now available: Parallel processing in the brain's visual form system: An fMRI study by Yoshihito Shigihara and Semir Zeki in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience
  • Now available: Masking reveals parallel form systems in the visual brain by Yu Tung Lo and Semir Zeki in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience
  • Now available: The role of parietal cortex in the formation of colour and motion based concepts by Samuel W. Cheadle and Semir Zeki in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience
  • Now available: Semir Zeki's first book, A Vision of the Brain, can be downloaded here.
  • Now available: Perceptual asynchrony for motion by Yu Tung Lo and Semir Zeki in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Varieties of perceptual instability and their neural correlates by Tomohiro Ishizu and Semir Zeki in Neuroimage.
  • Now available: The experience of mathematical beauty and its neural correlates by Semir Zeki, John Romaya, Dionigi Benincasa and Sir Michael Atiyah in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: The "Visual Shock" of Francis Bacon: an essay in neuroesthetics by Semir Zeki and Tomohiro Ishizu in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Clive Bell's "Significant Form" and the neurobiology of aesthetics by Semir Zeki is now available under open access in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience.
  • Now available: The brain's specialized systems for aesthetic and perceptual judgments by Semir Zeki and Tomohiro Ishizu is now available under open access in the European Journal of Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Parallelism in the brain's visual form system by Semir Zeki and Yoshihito Shigihara is now available in the European Journal of Neuroscience.
  • Now available: Splendors and Miseries of the Brain is now available in Greek and Polish (also available in Spanish, Italian and German).